Posted by Kate on June 24, 2009
Looking for ways to find information beyond the typical PubMed/Google Scholar search? Try these new federated search solutions.
Mednar
This search engine allows you to search PubMed, Google Scholar, the Cochrane Library, and other resources using one simple box. Results are clustered by topic, allowing you to zero in on specific topics, authors, or publications. You may also perform advanced searches allowing you to specify title words or authors and set a date range. In addition, you can choose which resources Mednar searches.
ScienceResearch.com
This search engine targets a wide variety of science sources including the NIH, PNAS, ACS, and the AACR. Like Mednar, topics are clustered and you can perform advanced searches limiting your search to specific topic areas.
Don’t have time to search? I can do it for you! Just stop by the library, call x2711, or email me or Sherri Place.
Posted in databases | Tagged: databases, deep web, searching | 1 Comment »
Posted by Kate on November 10, 2008
The NLM History of Medicine division has recently unveiled a new database that searches archival finding aids that have been encoded with EAD (encoded archival description). This tool is a practical way of finding information on historical papers from various people in the medical field.
From the Archives and Modern Manuscripts program:
The NLM Archives and Modern Manuscripts Program oversees the collection and administration of archives and modern manuscripts that relate to the history of medicine. The collections include approximately 10,000 linear feet of material dating from the 17th century to the present. The collections are made up of organizational records and personal papers, oral histories, diaries, lecture notes, pharmacopoeias, herbals, treatises, and dissertations. Topics include the history of military medicine, biomedical science, and public health and disease. Also included are the internal records of NLM and other organizations relating to medical librarianship and medical informatics.
Check out the NLM archival database if you’re interested. If you need access to the primary information within the collection, contact the NLM Archives and Modern Manuscripts division.
Posted in News, archives, technology | Tagged: archives, databases, NLM | Leave a Comment »
Posted by talbotlibrary on May 22, 2008
Have you tried MD Consult, the latest electronic resource recently acquired by the Talbot Research Library? MD Consult includes information from leading medical textbooks, full-text journals and also includes a complete medline database. Additionally, it provides a drug database, a medical news service, a collection of peer-reviewed practice guidelines, a CME collection, a collection of patient education handouts, and a database of medical images that include photos, tables and graphs. Images can be searched, downloaded, and /or printed.
The collection of textbooks includes more than 50 titles including Abeloff’’s Clinical Oncology, Hoffman’s Hematology, and many others in all areas of medicine. The journals collection contains more than 80 full-text journals, including most of the Clinics of North America titles. Each title can be searched separately or as a collection.
Need some basic background information? Type a topic in the search box or click on the star for Recommended Results for the Most Common Searches. MD Consult automatically breaks down search results by resource and lists the top results delivered by each resource. Searches can be stored and Alerts can also be set up.
MD Consult News is updated daily and includes top stories, stories by specialty, and a section called, “In This Week’s Journals”. Sign up for the free weekly e-newsletter or set up an RSS newsfeed on your computer.
You can find MD Consult on the library’s webpage, under “other web resources”. MD Consult can also be accessed at home and by PDA, unlike Up-to-Date. Please contact Talbot Research Librarians Karen Albert, Beth Lewis, or Sherri Place with any questions or for a demo of MD Consult.
Posted in Library Resources | Tagged: databases, ebooks | Leave a Comment »